Baking: Freenut Butter Cookies

For those of you who are new around here, I have way too many allergies, including peanuts and tree nuts.  Now, I’m a weirdo and only developed this allergy when I was in university, so unfortunately I know how delicious things like peanut butter are.  So I’ve been wanting to try out numerous recipes using a peanut butter alternative to see if I could make things that taste just as good without nuts.  The first recipe I tried was ‘Freenut Butter Easter Eggs’, which you can check out here!  They turned out surprisingly well, so I decided it was time to try another one!  I’ve been dying to try to make nut free peanut butter cookies for a while now.  Ya, I know that sounds contradictory, so I’m going with Freenut butter cookies.  So let’s get started!
What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup wow butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C)

Step 2: Mix Wow Butter & Sugar


In a medium bowl mix together Wow butter and sugar.  I just used a wooden spoon here, but I would suggest trying a beater, I think it might incorporate the sugar better.

Step 3: Add egg


Beat the egg into the mixture.

Step 4: Add remaining ingredients


Stir or beat in baking soda, vanilla and salt.

Step 5: Prepare dough

Roll dough into balls, roughly 1 inch in size and place on baking sheet.  Using the back of a fork, lightly press a criss-cross pattern into the top of each cookie.

TIP: Keep a cup of water next to you and dip the fork in it before making each criss-cross pattern, so the fork doesn’t stick to the top of your cookies.

Step 6: Bake

Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes.  Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing.

Step 7: Enjoy!

I would recommend not eating these until they have completely cooled, I just found they tasted better that way.  I think these turned out pretty good, not perfect but definitely good for my first try!

Do you have any tips for baking with peanut butter alternatives?  Any suggestions on what I should try to make next?

Leave a Reply

