Top 5 Summer Nail Polishes


It’s finally happened, summer is here.  So I figured it was time to write something summer related and I though nail polishes would be the perfect topic!  I haven’t spoken much about nail polish here, but it’s something I truly love.  I think I look so much more polished when my nails are done.  I know it’s silly, but I just feel that tad bit better about myself.  So lets get into my top 5 nail polishes for the summer season!

Note: I am really intense about how I do my nails, I use the Revlon base coat, then add 2-3 coats of the colour and I always finish with the Seche Vite top coat.  So all my comments about the longevity of these nail polishes are with these products paired with them!

Essie – Bikini So Teeny

img_3953

I think this might be one of my favourite nail polishes I own!  Essie describes it as a sparkling, cornflower blue.  I would have described it as more of a periwinkle, but I’m just splitting hairs here.  I looove blue nail polish, I have so many different shades in my collection.  This colour is so unique though, it’s bright and fun, but also somehow muted.  It’s just a really great colour.  There are very small sparkles in this, which would normally put me off, but once you put on 2 coats you can’t even notice the sparkles and it just adds a little extra sheen.  Because of the sparkles, this lasts even longer than the average Essie polish, which is great!

Finger Paints – Iconic Orange

img_3946

I couldn’t have a summer nail polish list without a neon right??  I don’t tend to gravitate towards neon nail colours, frankly this is the only one in my collection and I got it for free when I bought a bunch of Seche Vite top coats at Sally Beauty (the best top coat out there by the way!).  I love any shade of orange on my nails, so of course if I was going to try a neon it would be orange!  I was really surprised by how much I loved this on my nails, it’s made me want more neon nail polishes!  It just pops in such a fun way, I can’t get enough!  Also, for a nail polish I got for free I really like the formula and the brush.  I love a wider brush because it makes paining my nails that much easier and this has that!  It lasted about a week without chipping or anything, I was super impressed!

Essie – Mint Candy Apple

Now, I spoke about this is my most recent favourites (here) so I’ll try not to go on too long about this one!  If any of you out there are beauty blog obsessed like me, you’ll remember that this nail polish was THE nail polish to have a few years ago.  And let me just say, it’s worth the hype!  I’ve had this for a few years now and I still reach for it quite often.  It’s a perfect pale minty blue shade that always looks great!  It’s a standard Essie formula, so I find it lasts about 5ish days.

Revlon ColorStay Gel Envy – Up the Ante

This is the first nail polish I’ve tried in this formula, but I love it!  It lasts for a week on average, which is great. And I love the size of the brush!  It’s wider, which as I said above, I love!  This is such a cool colour, it’s kind of a mix of pink and purple, pulling more towards purple.  It’s great for spring and summer!

Essie – Chillato

Last but certainly not least is yes, another Essie polish.  I’ll be honest, they rule my collection.  They describe this colour as a frozen cream pistachio.  It’s super unique and I wasn’t sure if I was going to love it or not.  It’s a pastel and a mix of green and yellow I would say.  Turns out I love this a lot more than expected.  It’s so different from anything else I’ve seen and it’s perfect for summer!  It’s a standard Essie formula, so I find it lasts about 5ish days.

What are your favourite nail polishes to wear in the summer?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Summer Nail Polishes

Leave a Reply

